Boost your Breakfast

Screen Shot 2015-10-02 at 10.46.28 AM

If you were to ask me what my favourite meal of the day is, I would jump to say breakfast. Every morning I look forward to drinking a fresh cup of coffee while scrolling through my Instagram feed and eating a delicious breakfast.

I am constantly switching up my daily breakfast and normally turn to Pinterest for ideas. One recipe I kept seeing pop up was an açaí (ah-sigh-EE) bowl. Not only was Pinterest filled with photos of colorful açaí bowl creations, but my Instagram feed was full of celebrities and YouTubers posting beautiful photos too.

One day, I decided to try to make it. If it failed, at least I would have a great Instagram photo out of it. So, I found a recipe on Pinterest and tried it out. Lets just say the recipe was terrible and I ended up not eating it or documenting it on social media.

Now a year later, I bought some more açaí berry packs and tired to make it again…after more research of course. The result? An absolute success.

It’s such a fun snack to make and tastes divine. The açaí bowl is similar to a smoothie, just thicker. It’s been my favourite breakfast as of late and even a healthy late night snack.

Açaí berries are a superfood. They are filled with antioxidants, amino acids, contain anti aging properties and so much more. They are filling and when you add all the extra toppings (chia seeds, goji berries, coconut) it’ll keep you full all morning.

Hopefully you can give this a try. Im almost certain you’ll be hooked after the first bite!

What’s your favourite breakfast food?

Acai Bowl Recipe
Click the recipe to save it!

Açaí Bowl Photo by: Jennifer Doerksen

Leave a comment