My Role Models in Fashion

School is quickly wrapping up and I’m currently working towards crossing everything off my very last school to-do list. It’s exciting to think I will be on the hunt for my dream job and experiencing a new chapter.

In honour of International Women’s Day yesterday (cue in Independent Women by Destiny’s Child), I thought I would share the four women I look up to as strong, independent, successful business women. Their dedication, work ethic and motivation to succeed in the fashion industry has inspired me to work hard. These women are my role models.

1. Katherine Power and Hillary Kerr

kerrpower
fashionista.com

No, it is not because one of them has the same name as me and spells it the same way . This fashionable duo are the co-founders of the popular digital fashion empire WhoWhatWear. Power, the creative director, and Kerr, are both former ELLE editors and decided to turn the adored fashion magazine digital. They have since accomplished everything you could imagine, such as becoming co-authors of two books, launching the WhoWhatWear line at Target, and creating Clique Media, a media and commerce company, which owns popular websites Byrdie and MyDomaine.

Their passion and work ethic is something I admire. I follow both of them on some social media platforms and it’s evident they love what they do. Even though their days are extremely busy, and I’m sure exhausting, they keep going because they are obsessed with their jobs. I remember seeing Power on an episode of Nicole Richie’s Candidly Nicole and you could tell she takes her job seriously because she was having none of Nicole’s crazy personality as she visited the WhoWhatWear office.

There is nothing more motivating to me, as I start my career, than following this powerful pair dominate the fashion industry.

2. Lauren Conrad

Lauren-Conrad-Through-Years-Pictures
POPSUGAR

Ever since her days on The Hills, when she started working for Teen Vogue, I instantly thought Lauren Conrad was the coolest person ever. Conrad launched her first clothing line in 2007 and from there designed a dress for the Trophy model at the 2008 Emmy Awards. She designed the LC Lauren Conrad line for Khol’s, which I shopped at every time I went to the states, and now has her another clothing line, Paper Crown. She also developed and is currently running her website, LaurenConrad.com, which provides content that is an extension of her lifestyle brand.

Watching her career grow from a Teen Vogue intern and now to a designer because of her determination is really inspiring. I think I could say that watching her and Whitney Port in the Teen Vogue office sparked my interest in fashion and has given me the drive to fulfill my passion.

3. Leandra Medine

Screen Shot 2016-03-09 at 2.01.41 PM
Harpers Bazaar

If you’ve ever read any of Leandra Medine’s material, you know she is crazy, talented, and down right hilarious. She founded the blog Man Repeller, a website dedicated to fashion, beauty, humour, a dick-shun-ary (you have to read this), trivia, and a podcast. She wrote Man Repeller: Seeking Love, Finding Overalls.

Her content is everything you want to read and it’s so entertaining because of her humour and wit. I can sit down for a whole morning reading post after post. I really love the approach she has taken when creating her content. She really knew how to set herself apart from existing fashion-based blogs and fully embraced her personality. She pulls off the humour and still provides high quality content.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “My Role Models in Fashion

Leave a Reply

