Kalelicious

When I was younger I would get extremely happy when I started getting sick. That meant I got to stay home and watch the game show network and talk shows all day. Now, I dread the thought of being sick. I will try any remedy out there to get rid of the bug.

For me, eating healthy while sick is a challenge. All I want are potato chips and pasta. I tend to stay away from vegetables and don’t get the proper nutrition.

There are the foods I try and eat a little more while I’m sick and according to Women’s Health Magazine, these are their benefits.

  • Ginger– It helps with nausea and any other stomach issues you may have.
  • Citrus– While it may be a myth that vitamin C will cure the common cold, the soft white skin on citrus fruits has contain flavonoids that help boost your immune system
  • Spicy Foods– Spice will act as a decongestant making you nose run and eyes water. Cayenne Pepper is a great option as it aids in breaking up congestion. But avoid spicy foods if you have an upset stomach.

This past week, I was sick and made sure to eat a little more green. While I don’t particularly have steamed vegetables for dinner, I’ve been drinking plenty of juice. I don’t mean Minute Maid orange juice, I’m talking cold fresh-pressed juice… with kale.

Kale has a lot of nutritional benefits. According to Mind Body Green, kale is “the new beef”. Kale is filled with antioxidants, it’s high in iron, fibre, vitamin A and C, and a great detox food.

Where can you go in Winnipeg to get a kale smoothie? Well, Green Carrot. When Green Carrot opened just last year, I was so excited. Winnipeg was finally getting more of a selection of healthier options. Everything in there is freshly made without any additives or preservatives and contain around 5 pounds of fresh fruits and vegetables.

My favourite on the menu – KAMP (kale, apple, mint, and pineapple). Some other delicious picks on the menu are Summer Squeeze and Wake Me Up. They also serve açaí bowls that are the perfect summer treat.

FullSizeRender

Booster Juice and Jugo Juice also have two great kale smooties on their menu. At Booster Juice, I order the Tropi-kale every time. It has kale, mangos, bananas, apples, and pineapple, so good! At Jugo Juice the Mighty Kale is delicition with kale, spinach, mango, pineapple, and apple and orange juice.

Now, drinking kale or spinach can be interesting at the start. The first time you have it, it may throw you off. But, after a few more times I’m sure you won’t even notice it.

Tip: It is a good idea to try it at home first, that way you can add a little bit of green to your smoothie instead of being overwhelmed your first time. All you need to do is create your favourite smoothie and add a handful of kale and spinach.

You can also sport kale on your sweater like Beyonce in her 7/11 video. Don’t be surprised if I start sporting the sweater!

One thought on “Kalelicious

Leave a Reply

