It’s time to stop forgetting things.

Screen Shot 2015-02-07 at 10.34.45 PMThe countdown has officially started. If you are a student, reading week is one week away and you are probably filled with pure happiness– all you need to do is get through the week. Whether you are vacationing to another city, province or country over the break or traveling to your couch to visit your Netflix account that has been idle for the past month, you’ll be needing to pack a few things.

Personally, I absolutely love packing. It’s something I look forward to every time I go away. This reading week, I will be spending it in Arizona with my family– taking in the heat and playing some golf. I have been getting extremely eager to start packing but I know a lot of people dread it.

Packing can be a burden for some people and I can totally understand. Oh the stress you’re under to choose only a few items from your whole wardrobe and then making sure you don’t forget anything. But it shouldn’t be stressful. Here are some tips and tricks that help make packing stress free.

Screen Shot 2015-02-07 at 10.36.56 PM
1. Start packing a few days before and pulling your favourites and start putting them in your suitcase slowly. This will take some of the stress from packing everything at once and have a better idea of what you need to bring.

2. Write out a mock schedule for your trip, that way you will know the type of outfits you will need.

3. Having a list helps you stay organized. At the end of this post there is one for you to download and print out to use the next time you travel.

4. Getting organizers helps keep the suitcase clean. I use these ones from Heys all the time. I find they save a lot of room in my suitcase. Your clothes will also stay protected from shoes and any spills.

5. If you are packing any jackets or blazers put them inside out and fold them. That way the outside won’t get dirty.

Screen Shot 2015-02-07 at 10.40.29 PM
Screen Shot 2015-02-07 at 10.42.16 PM

Making sure you have a good selection of things for the plane or car ride is essential. You want to avoid boredom.

The most important things is starting with a good carry-on. You want it to be durable and have Mary Poppin powers. Some of my favourites are Lululemon bags, but the bag I will recumbent to everyone everyday is the Longchamp Le Pliage. This thing has been with me for years now and it still stronger than ever. They last for such a long time and I pretty much pack it with bricks everyday.

I always make sure I have my iPad and Kindle with me (if I’m bringing my laptop I won’t bring my iPad). Watching movies is probably the best way to kill time during your travels. To go along with that noise cancelling headphones are the best. whether it’s for movies or music, these headphones make everything better. I use Bose headphones but there are so many on the market right now there are so many options.

Sitting on a plane for hours being uncomfortable is the worst. What’s even worst is being cold on the plane and not having anything to get warm. I make sure you have socks in your carry-on bag all the time. Whether it’s a thin pair or a big fuzzy pair– bring them! They will also be crucial when you are taking your shoes off going through security. A big scarf or sweater is also a must. Surprise, Surprise, I mentioned my favourite Aritzia blanket scarf again.

You might ask why I’m bringing a magazine when I’m bringing my kindle. Well, come departure and landing time electronics have to be put away on most planes so it is always good to have a book or magazine to keep you occupied during that time.

My must have beauty essentials are quite minimal, I don’t like having to many things in my bag.. Airplanes are so dry, we all know that. The air is brutal so making sure you make sure you have moisturizing needs and your skin will thank you. I always bring a good lip and hand moisturizer and eye drops. I’m a Purell freak during my travels so having hand cream will balance that out.

Have an amazing break!

Download a Free Printable Packing List by clicking the link below.

Packing Checklist

Leave a Reply

