European Retailer hits Winnipeg

Before we get into the excitement of a brand new Winnipeg store, I’d like to welcome you to my blog! I will be blogging about all things Winnipeg, fashion, beauty and lifestyle. Oh, and don’t forget to follow me on twitter. Now let’s kick it off with my excitement on the H&M arrival.

After a full year of waiting, we finally have our first H&M!

H&M (Hennes & Mauritz) is a Swedish clothing company providing the latest trends in fashion for women, men and children. With affordable prices and trendy pieces, it’s a fashion lovers dream. The store had its grand opening on September 10, 2014 at Polo Park Shopping Centre. I was able to check it out opening day with fellow section two #CreComm ladies, but we were absolutely dreading the line. Hearing about the eager shoppers waiting in line for hours that morning, I was expecting the worst. After seeing the line we almost turned around but ended up only waiting 10 minutes.

I was very impressed with the store. It was beautiful and the layout was clean. Although I didn’t buy anything that day (I had homework to attend to), I went back a few days later. I ended up buying a pair of jeans ($29.99), a dress ($14.95) and some thin gold rings ($3.95). The prices were great, which I wasn’t expecting since American retailers that make their way to Canada seem to raise the prices.

Something I really look forward to is the H&M designer collaborations. Once a year, the company collaborates with an international designer to create an affordable collection. Designers like Karl Lagerfeld, Stella McCartney and Isabel Marant have all released collabs. Next on the list for 2014 is Alexander Wang. This killer collab is said to be released on November 6.

Fingers crossed the collection will hit our Winnipeg store!

Now we just have to wait for Urban Outfitters, Anthropology and Nine West to make their way into Polo Park.

Part of the line opening day.
Part of the line opening day. (taken with iPhone)
Inside H&M
Inside H&M (taken with iPhone)

Visit H&M online to plan your next shopping trip.

Leave a Reply

